[Review] Revlon Colorstay Foundation

Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation (reviewed here) used to be my holy grail foundation until we hit winter and suddenly none of the colors in the range matched me anymore. The shade I had (5W1 Bronze) became way too orange and the shade I got matched to again at Myer (3W2 ) was too light for my skin.

I decided to mix things up and try a drug store brand instead.  The Revlon Colorstay foundation was a foundation that  seemed to get rave reviews and was something I always wanted to try.

Revlon Colorstay foundation review

Revlon Colorstay foundation in shade #320 True Beige

Here’s what Revlon say about the Colorstay foundation:

  • Medium to full coverage with a lightweight formula that won’t cake, fade or rub off
  • Time Release Technology
  • Oil-free, moisture-balance formula is especially formulated for normal or dry skin to continuously provide hydration
  • Makeup feels comfortable and wears for up to 24 hours
  • Comes in 12 beautiful shades
  • SPF 20

The formula

The foundation is oil-free and is thin in consistency, but not too thin that it’s runny. I’ve been applying it after moisturizing with my Real Techniques brush and find it really easy to work with. It doesn’t dry fast so you don’t have to apply and blend at lightening speed to avoid patches.

The coverage

The coverage is pretty impressive, I found that medium was sufficient for me. I know that it can be built to full coverage but it looked a bit caked and fake when I tried that.

Staying power

Here’s where this foundation let me down. It’s claims to be last for 24 hours, but by mid day I’m left with half my make up. While it doesn’t disappear completely or go patchy on the skin, I find that the coverage fades, so my spots begin to show through.

Packaging 

I love the packaging of this foundation, the bottle is clear so you can see exactly how much remains of the product. It also comes with a pump!

Price

The Revlon Colorstay foundation retails for $39.95, but you can pick it up for around $15 when Myer or Chemist Warehouse have it on sale.

Final thoughts

This foundation is a bit average.  It’s not so bad that I want to throw out the rest of my bottle but it’s also not good enough for me to repurchase. I know that a lot of people swear by this foundation, claiming that it’s the only foundation that works for them but I’m disappointed by how fast it fades on my normal/dry skin. This foundation is good if you just need to wear it for a few hours, but I wouldn’t recommend it if you’re after something that is long wearing. I really wish that I had tried the old colorstay formula because it sounds like it was so much better!

And the search for the perfect foundation continues 🙂

Fatima x

13 comments

  1. Aww what a shame. I’ve found Revlon foundations too pink to match me well so as lovely/awful as the formulas might be, I couldn’t try them.
    I hate wasting things. Have you considered wearing this over a primer? Might help it last longer.

    1. I’ve been using it on weekends when I’m just going out for a few hours..have tried it over primer, doesn’t help much.
      Might try it with powder next, thanks!

    1. A friend of mine recommended Colorstay to me but ever since I tried Dream Wonder foundation by Maybelline I can’t think of any other foundation lol!

      1. Haven’t heard much about the Dream Wonder foundation, will check it out. Have you reviewed it on your blog? x

      2. Not yet! I tried it some days back and liked its light weight formula! Will let you know about it soon in a post! 🙂 xx

Leave a comment