[Review] Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay in Place Makeup

So here it is ladies, a comprehensive review on my holy grail foundation, as promised! I have been using using this foundation for the last two years (old formula) and just recently got started on my second bottle, which is the new formula. My post today will be on the new formula.

20140303_084608

 

20140303_084653

 

The hype

15-hour staying power. Flawless all day.

This worry-free, long-wearing makeup stays fresh and looks natural through heat, humidity, nonstop activity.

Won’t change colour, smudge or come off on clothes.

Feels lightweight and comfortable.

Now the flawless look you see in the morning is the look you keep all day.

Choosing the perfect shade

There are 17 shades available in Australia, and I was matched by the EL assistant at Myer to the shade 5W1 Bronze.

Just as a guide:

W- Warm (red, yellow undertones)

N- Neutral (peach undertones)

C- Cool (pink/rosy undertones)

If you’re interested in this foundation, I suggest getting matched at an EL counter and asking for a sample.

PhotoGrid_1393728675696

 

The formula

The liquid foundation is oil free and powder based. I found that the new formula is thinner in consistency than it’s predecessor, and doesn’t dry on the skin immediately so you have time to blend your foundation in. I usually apply a moisturizer, wait a few minutes, then apply the foundation on with my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush.  I used to used my fingers to apply the foundation before and it used to look perfect, the brush just makes it easier to apply and gives a more airbrushed finish which I love. I have normal skin and this foundation works well for me, but I’m not sure if this foundation would work well for dry skin as it is powder based. Be sure to test a sample out first!

The coverage

The coverage on this foundation is AMAZING. I have dark spots on my face from acne scarring and this foundation covers them perfectly to the point were I skip using concealer. Estee Lauder describe the coverage as medium and buildable, which I believe is accurate because this foundation can be built to full coverage beautifully. What I love about this foundation is that even though it’s medium to full coverage, it doesn’t give the dreaded “caked on” makeup look and also doesn’t feel like you’re wearing something heavy on your face.

This foundation makes the skin look so flawless and perfect from a distance and from close up, I definitely recommend it if you’re after coverage in a foundation. The finish on this foundation is natural to semi matte.

The Double Wear foundation is also available in “Double Wear Light” and “Double Wear Maximum Cover” if you’re looking for less/more coverage. However, the color ranges aren’t as extensive on these ranges.

Staying Power

Estee Lauder claims that the foundation lasts for 15 hours, the longest I’ve used it for was 14 hours and it definitely lasted for that time. Without primer or powder, this foundation somehow manages to look perfect at the end of a working day. So if you’re out and about all day, this foundation is perfect as it won’t go sliding off and there’s no need for constant touch ups.

Packaging

The foundation is sold in a frosted glass bottle with a gold lid, it looks luxurious but it has no pump so dispensing the foundation is not a fun task. I believe the MAC pump fits on this bottle so I might look at buying that in the future. The bottle is also really heavy so it might be difficult to travel with it.

20140303_141633

 

20140303_141602

 

Price

Estee Lauder is sold in Australia for $50. They’ve brought the price down in recent years but have also changed the formula of the product. While the current formula is really good, the old one that I used initially was much better.

PRO’S OF ELDW

  • Medium to full coverage and buildable without looking cakey
  • Long lasting- stays on all day without requiring touch ups
  • Blends easily to give a flawless finish
  • Available in a variety of shades
  • Does not transfer easily
  • Does not oxodise- the foundation stays true to it’s color
  • Has not caused me to breakout

CON’S OF ELDW

  • Does not come with a pump
  • Is difficult to remove
  • The price
  • Contains SPF so might affect photo’s

Overall, I’m really happy with this foundation and will continue to repurchase it. Let me know what you think of ELDW below!

Fatima xx

13 comments

  1. Oh this sounds really good! And not too expensive either, I honestly thought it would be close to the $100 mark. It’s a shame that you’re not liking the new formula as much, I feel like companies need to give us some warning before they go and do that haha

    1. It was $68 before but they’ve reduced the price.

      I’m just happy that even though it’s a thinner consistency,it’s still working well for me 🙂

      Haha I know a lot of people would have stocked up had they known!,

  2. Have u tried studio fix from MAC before i wanna compare the two of them before I buy double wear as Im a long time lover of studio fix and don’t want to be dissappointed haha it sounds great though and love the blog 🙂

    1. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      I’ve actually been testing out the studio fix, ELDW provides more coverage and is longer lasting. But it can make the face look ‘flat’ because it’s so matte.

      I really like how my skin looks with SFF, it gives a kind of warmth and glow.

      Thinking of purchasing the SFF but not to replace my ELDW 🙂 Definitely give the ELDW a one week trial before buying it xx

Leave a Reply

