[Review] MAC Hug Me lipstick

Happy Saturday girls!

I’ve been after the perfect nude lipstick for a while now, but every nude shade I came across was either too light or made me look washed out. As most of you know, searching for the perfect nude lipstick to suit your skin tone requires some effort. In theory, the shade should make you look healthy and natural and should be close to your natural lip color.

Enter MAC Hug Me, a lipstick MAC describe as a ‘fleshed pink’. The lipstick comes in a lustre finish, which basically means that the formula gives a sheer coverage, with a sheen.

MAC Hug Me

MAC Hug Me

MAC Hug Me

I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE this lipstick! Although I still have to moisturize my lips before applying, it’s really comfortable on application and very moisturizing. The staying power of this lipstick is only around two hours because of the glossy finish but it fades evenly so you don’t end up with patches on your lips.

I consider this lipstick the perfect ‘my lips but better’ shade, it’s close to my own lip color but still looks polished and like I’m wearing something on my lips. It’s ideal for times when you want to wear heavier eye make up, or when you want something more work place appropriate.

MAC Hug Me has the usual amazing vanilla scent that MAC lipsticks are renowned for, and is part of the MAC permanent line.

What’s your favourite nude lipstick? x

16 comments

  1. Ooh, I might have to check this one out.
    It looks great.
    I have a lot of nudes (from constantly searching).
    Revlon’s Mink (Superlustrous) and Pink Truffle (Lip Butter) are pretty good as are CK First Kiss and Guerlain’s Beige Mousseline (although this is more glossy than I care for).
    Mink is probably close to Hug Me.

  2. Ooh I might have to check this one out, it looks great.

    I have a lot of nudes (from constantly searching).
    Revlon’s Mink (Superlustrous) and Pink Truffle (Lip Butter) are pretty good. As is Guerlain’s Beige Mousseline (though more glossy than I care for).
    L’Oreal has a decent nude in their Made For Me Naturals – Sienna

    1. Thanks Mel. The lighter pinks don’t suit me too well, they end up looking ‘frosty’. Think they’d suit you really well though! x

  3. I think that finding the perfect nude for our skin tone can be quite tricky! This one looks really pretty, I might have to give it a swatch next time I’m at a MAC store 🙂

    1. It is..I was beginning to think that it was impossible haha. Think you should also give Modesty and Blankety a swatch, they looked good too x

  4. Mac lipsticks are always reliable. I have the lustre finish form Alluring Aquatic collection and it is perfect for the no makeup makeup days.
    My favourite is a Rogue Voulpte by YSL in Nude Beige.

Leave a comment