[Review] MAC Modesty Lipstick

MAC Modesty (Cremesheen)

MAC Modesty (Cremesheen)

Hi everyone! I picked this MAC lipstick up way back in January when I was overseas, but only used it for the first time in May because I wanted to take pictures of the unused bullet first. Hashtag beauty blogger problems (:

This product hit my wishlist last year when one of my favourite bloggers (Zara from Mouldyfruit) kept mentioning her love for it. I already own one nude lipstick from MAC (Hug Me) which I love so was eager to try a second nude lipstick from them.

MAC modesty:

MAC modesty

MAC Modesty swatched on NC 42 skin

MAC Modesty swatched on NC 42 skin

MAC Modesty

Swatches: MAC Modesty

MAC describe Modesty as a “muted neutral pink” and I have to agree – it’s not too pink but also not too nude. It has just enough of a neutral tone to make it a good MLBB (my lips but better) shade. I think this lipstick will suit almost every skin tone because it’s one of those can’t go wrong shades.

MAC Modesty is available in a cremesheen formula which makes it a very creamy, hydrating and comfortable lipstick to wear. I love how low maintenance it is, it’s perfect for everyday wear and is also my most reached for shade at the moment for the office. ย The pigmentation is really good, with one swipe giving enough coverage. I’m not such a big fan of the staying power though- it tends to fade after a few hours and is pretty much non existent once I drink coffee or have something to eat.

If you’re after a MAC nude lipstick, give this one a swatch when you’re at the MAC counter next. What’s your perfect nude lipstick? x

EDIT: This post has been added to the Monday Makeup Madness link party over at Fabulous and Fun Life. Head over to join in on the fun!

38 comments

  1. I just recently saw this lipstick on a bliogger I like and here is your post! It looks so good:)

  2. Gorgeous lip shade!! Never thought this lipstick would be so cute! โค I'll definitely be giving it a swatch next time I hit the mall ๐Ÿ™‚ I love me a dark nude, something like Cherish from M.A.C. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I love light nudes with hints of pink ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll probably end up purchasing it lol! Cherish is a darker nude but it’s totally wearable on a daily basis but I prefer to use it during the fall and winter months ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. Yes! Cherish is gorgeous! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been wanting velvet teddy for a loong while now but I never pick it up! lol. Maybe I’ll get it to see how it compares with Cherish! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, I don’t quite like the lustre finish as well ๐Ÿ˜› I feel like it doesn’t give that great of a color pay off.

  3. such a gorgeous colour!! Do you feel it’s a little lighter on your lips? I tend to have that issue with a lot of lip colours, they look great on my hand but washed out on my lips.

    1. Hi Lily! I don’t really use hand swatches when buying lipsticks because I don’t feel it’s a good indication of how it will look on my lips. I like MAC because I can sanitize and try on the lipstick directly ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe try swatching on your finger tips? Heard that it’s a better place to swatch on that the hand xx

  4. my perfect nude is MAC honeylove but I lost my last one! so gutted. This shade looks perfectly MLBB – you’re right! I’ll swatch next time I’m in store ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment