Cleansers On Rotation

Cleansers on rotation

Cleansing and makeup removal is an important part of my skin care routine, it’s the first thing I do when I get home from work because I love the feeling of smooth, clean and soft skin. Cleansing milks used to be my preferred product of choice for makeup removal, but recently I’ve ventured into the world of micellar water and cleansing oils.

review garnier micellar cleansing water

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

I bought this product last year when every blogger was raving on about it or comparing it to the Bioderma version. I didn’t know what to expect because it pretty much looked like ordinary water in a bottle. Fast forward six months, I’m absolutely in love with this cleanser!

The packaging is cute and simple, and has a flip top lid which makes dispensing the product on my cotton pads super easy. The product itself has a light scent to it, and feels light on the skin. It does a brilliant job of removing my makeup, one wipe is usually enough to get everything off. The only product I’ve found that it doesn’t work so well on is on waterproof mascara. My skin feels lovely after using this, it’s not drying at all and doesn’t leave a sticky residue on my face.

I’ve been using this for the last six months and still have a quarter bottle left, it’s good value for money especially considering that it sometimes goes on sale for 40-50% at Coles or Priceline. Will definitely be repurchasing this one!

The Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water (400ml) retails for $12.99 in Australia.

review The Body Shop Camomile Silky Cleansing Oil

The Body Shop Camomile Silky Cleansing Oil

I was pretty stoked to receive this from my mum because the oil cleansing method is another concept that kept popping up on my feed and I wanted to test if it was worth the hype. This website here provides some good information on the oil cleansing method if you’re unfamiliar with the concept.

The cleansing oil comes in a pump package which I’ve got to say isn’t the best thing about this product because it dispenses too much of product at times. Dispensing also gets a bit messy at times with the oil going everywhere. In addition, I’ve noticed that my bottle leaks.

The directions for this product are similiar to other cleansing oils: you massage the product onto dry skin, add some water to your skin to emulsify then rinse.

This product does an AMAZING job at removing makeup, it literally melts everything off and leaves my skin feeling so soft and smooth. I love how well it removes eye makeup in particular.

This product is pricier than products that I’ve used in the past, so I’m not sure if I’ll ever actually purchase it for myself. However if you’re into oil cleansing, it’s cheaper than some of the other options out there so I would recommend it.

The Body Shop Camomile Silky Cleansing Oil (200ml) retails for $21.95 in Australia.

review Garnier Clean Sensitive Gentle Cleansing Milk

Garnier Clean Sensitive Gentle Cleansing Milk

I bought this from Chemist Warehouse last year and it’s not listed on their website anymore so I’m not sure if it’s actually still available for sale.

I apply this to cotton pads and then wipe off my makeup, it does a decent job removing makeup but I usually have to do a few swipes to get everything off. It also doesn’t seem to remove eye liner and some mascara’s very well. I like the consistency of this product, it’s creamy and a bit like a lotion. It does leave the skin a bit greasy after though, so I usually follow up with a face wash.

This is a gentle cleanser, best suited to those with dry or sensitive skin. From the three cleansers that I have on rotation at the moment, this is the one that I wouldn’t repurchase because there are better cleansers out there.

If you have any recommendations, I’d love to know in the comments below!

Fatima x

27 comments

  1. I’m such a cleanser hoarder. Currently using Garnier or Simple Micellar waters, as well as Go-To skincare’s cleanser once I’ve removed my makeup. I like how it leaves my skin feeling after I cleanse.

  2. I’ve been wanting to try the Body Shop Oil Cleanser for ages now! I’ve heard good things about it but I’m trying to work through some that I already own. I use the Garnier Micellar water almost everyday! It is the best ever!

    Great post 🙂

    Sarah | Bows & Pleats

      1. The blog should redirect from the old. com address but haven’t been able to figure out how to redirect followers! had a few big life changes so was blogging less for a while, all up and running again now 🙂 hope you’re doing well! xx

  3. The Body Shop one sounds absolutely lush.. (aside from the leakage problems and such.) I really want to try the Garnier Micella cleanser, I’ve heard amazing things. I’m using Bioderma at the moment and was told that the Garnier is a good cost effective alternative!
    I used to use that Garnier Milk ages ago… I’m almost sure it’s discontinued though! But I agree, there are better ones out there! Great post! xx

  4. I LOVE the body shop one. I need to repurchase! Love your blog would be great if you could check mine out too xxx

Leave a comment