[Review] MAC Studio Fix Foundation in NC 44

review MAC studio fix foundation NC 44

Foundation is one of those items that make or break your entire look in my opinion. Last year I ran out of my holy grail Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation and had to go hunting for another foundation. I couldn’t repurchase the ELDW because they don’t stock my shade in Australia, and none of the other shades in the range worked for me. I ended up getting samples across a few brands from Myer – the Lancome Teint Idole and Chanel perfection foundation were two brands that I enjoyed but the shades were not a perfect match for my skin. This was around the same time that I had my makeup done at MAC, I ended up selecting the Studio Fix foundation in NC 44 to redeem as one of my products.

Product description from the MAC website:

A modern foundation that combines a natural matte finish and medium-buildable coverage with broad spectrum UVA/UVB SPF 15. Comfortable and long-wearing: lasts for up to eight hours. Applies smoothly, builds coverage quickly and easily. Contains specially treated micronized pigments and soft-focus powders for a super-smooth look that helps minimize the appearance of imperfections. Absorbs and disperses oil. Contains special skin-conditioning ingredients. Oil free.

review mac studio fix foundation NC 44
20140913_144652
The formula

MAC Studio Fix is a liquid foundation and has a thick consistency. It smells a bit of paint, which is weird but is something that I can overlook. The formula of the foundation is easy to work with, it applies evenly and I have enough time to blend it before it dries. I apply this with my Real Techniques Expert face brush and the formula seems to work well with my normal/dry skin.

The coverage

The coverage of this foundation is awesome, I would say that it’s medium to high. You can build your coverage with studio fix- it doesn’t looked caked on, gives an absolutely flawless finish and photographs really well. The finish of this foundation is more dewy than matte, I really love how it makes my skin look.

Longevity

Here’s where the foundation failed me, it doesn’t seem to last more than 5Β hours. I’m used to wearing the ELDW which requires no touch ups through out the day, so I was disappointed to see that around 2 pm it looked liked I had no foundation on.

Packaging

The foundation isΒ housed in an attractive glass bottle. The pump for the bottle has to be purchased separately.

Overall thoughts

This foundation is good, I love the huge color selection and how it makes my skin look. It’s not the best foundation out there that I’ve used however, I don’t like the staying power of Studio Fix and also dislike that it doesn’t come with a pump included. This is a foundation that I would reach for if I’m only going out for a few hours, not at all day event or for work.

If you’re interested in trying this foundation, I suggest getting a sample from MAC first. I like using this foundation but it’s not something that I really really LOVE or want to rave on about on this blog.

The MAC Studio Fix Foundation retails for $49 (30ml) and is available from Myer, David Jones and the MAC online store.

Have you used MAC foundation before? What is your holy grail foundation? Share your thoughts in the comments below! x

EDIT : This post has been linked to the Monday Makeup Madness party over at Fabulous and Fun Life. Head over to join in on the fun!

10 comments

  1. Hello! What a shame it didnt work out!! If you get the chance, try some Designer Brands foundation, it’s supposed to be a dupe for ELDW and its $15! I reviewed the ‘oil free’ version on my blog about a month ago- IMO, its better than MAC (which I own too). Such a great foundation! I hope you find a nice replacement!! πŸ™‚

  2. It really bugs me when foundations don’t last very long! I really love the finish of NARS Sheer Glow but it only lasts about 5 hours on me as well!!! For the price we pay for some of these high-end foundations, you think they would last at least 10 hours! I have found that the new Too Faced Born This Way foundation is super super long-lasting. and stays on for 12 hours on me! xx

    Sarah | Bows & Pleats

  3. It’s disappointing that it wasn’t as long lasting as you thought it would be! I’ve tried it and I loved the coverage but it just looks terribly dry on me 😦

Leave a Reply

