[Review] Maybelline Color Drama Velvet Lip Pencil: Berry Much

maybelline color drama berry much

Maybelline Color Drama Intense Velvet Lip Pencil in Berry Much

My blog feed has been buzzing with reviews, swatches and pictures of the Maybelline Color Drama Velvet lip pencils ever since they were released in Australia. Although they sounded fantastic,  I vowed not to buy one because I really really didn’t need another lipstick in my collection! Luckily for me, I was chosen as one of the M Edition winners and won this lipstick from Maybelline in the shade 310 Very Much.

First impressions, the little pencil looks very cute! The lid fits on perfectly so it would be ideal to travel with. This was my first time trying out a lipstick in a pencil form and I loved the precise application that I got. I’m not sure how annoying sharpening the pencil would be once it gets blunt but for the time being I much prefer the ease of application from this pencil.

The formula of this pencil is smooth, creamy and pigmented. In terms of longevity, after five hours of wear it looks the exact same as it did when I applied it. There’s no feathering, uneven fading or the unattractive dry lips which is a huge plus for me. The only thing which I don’t like too much about this pencil is that I can’t control the color. With some of my lipsticks, I can dab on the color if it’s too intense or dark for my liking but with this it’s straight super dark pigmented color.

Maybelline Color Drama Intense Velvet Lip Pencil berry much

Maybelline Color Drama Intense Velvet Lip Pencil Berry Much

Maybelline Color Drama Intense Velvet Lip Pencils

Maybelline Color Drama Intense Velvet Lip Pencil

Maybelline Color Drama Intense Berry Much hand swatch

Hand Swatch: Maybelline Color Drama Intense Berry Much

Berry Much is extremely bold and intense, even darker than MAC Rebel which is what this color originally reminded me off. The color is perfect for the colder months ahead and is the perfect statement lip if you want a change from red lipstick. I’m dying to try ‘Minimalist’ or “Nude Perfection’ next, once I start buying lip products again that is 😉

The Color Drama lipsticks are available in 10 shades in Australia and retail for $9.95. They regularly go on sale though for 50% off and 3 for 2 so definitely good value for money.

Have you tried any of the Color Drama lip pencils yet? x

25 comments

  1. This looks so pretty on you! I’ve also seen these lip pencils around but I never bought any. This review might have changed my mind! xx
    P.S: I’d totally appreciate it if you could also check out my beauty blog and follow me back. 🙂

  2. Hello! Christina @lovethatlippie here! I love these pencils so much! Im yet to meet a gal that doesn’t lol 🙂 I love the range, crossing my fingers they’ll keep it as a permanent item and expand the colour range! Great review! 🙂

  3. Looks great on you! I’ve heard so many amazing things about those Maybeline pencils but none of the shades look appealing enough for me to buy…it doesn’t happen often 🙂

  4. This shade looks wonderful on you! I got caught up in the hype, too. I guess it’s hard not to with all the gorgeous swatches, and well, the price makes them worth trying, too

  5. I’ve been eyeing this range for ages but am waiting for the next sale to purchase it. Sometimes I wonder why cosmetics is so expensive here in Australia. Love that shade on you though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

