[Review] MAC Brave lipstick

review MAC brave lipstick

review MAC brave lipstick

MAC Brave lipstick swatched on NC 42 dark skin

Another day, another MAC lipstick!

MAC describes Brave as ‘a muted pink-beige with a very subtle white pearl overtone’. Brave is part of the permanent line and is available in the satin finish. I picked Brave up when I attended one of the MAC TechniqueΒ sessions. I spent some time deciding between Brave and Twig and eventually went with Brave because it was lighter and more natural.

I know that a lot of people find that Brave is their perfect nude and ‘my lips but better’ shade, but on my NC 42 skin, it looks more pink and not nude at all. I’m a huge fan of the satin finish, they feel comfortable on the lips without drying them out. This lipstick lasts around 3 to 4 hours on, without eating or drinking.

Brave is a gorgeous pink shade which I think works better on fair to medium skin tones. If you’re NC 40 and up, I suggest trying it on first because it can make some skin tones looked washed out.

MAC Brave is available from the MAC online store and Myer for $36 in Australia.

26 comments

  1. I have this one and I love it! I’m definitely one of those that consider this my ‘perfect nude’ as I have quite pigmented lips and the paler shades make me look washed out.

    1. It’s quite a popular shade πŸ™‚ I’ve also read that when combined with the ‘Soar’ lipliner, it gives the perfect Kylie Jenner nude lip.

  2. Thanks for the review. This is one of those shades that I love, but I will swatch before purchase because certain pinks are pale on me.

    1. Definitely, this is a bit of a tricky pink. I also found ‘Twig’ to be similar but more wearable if you also want to give that one a swatch x

  3. I love the look of this lipstick! I’m heading over to the MAC counter this afternoon so I’ll make sure to swatch Brave then and also try out the Soar lipliner. I was actually needing to buy a new lip liner.
    Thank you
    for linking up to Monday Makeup Madness πŸ™‚
    X Ingrid

    1. It’s an awesome idea, looking forward to participating every Monday πŸ™‚ I haven’t tried MAC liners before, would love to know how you go x

  4. I have that shade and love it! But I understand your problem as I’m darker as well. I think I’m an NC45 and Twig is a better match for me, make sure to pick it up next time πŸ˜‰

    1. I definitely have Twig on my wish list! I’ll have to swatch it again though because I can’t remember how it looks on me. Do you wear Brave with a liner? x

  5. I had my eyes on Twig, ha, but Brave seems nice too. I tried MAC lipsticks but they don’t last on my lips for even an hour :s as soon as i fix that problem I shall buy a MAC lipstick. I am aiming at Ruby Woo because nothing rocks my boat better than a red lip πŸ˜€ xx

    1. Oh the satin finish doesn’t last that long, try their matte finishes then. I really wanted Ruby Woo but I heard it’s extremely drying so I’m a bit hesitant! Also I’m not sure how often I’ll wear a bright red πŸ˜›

  6. This does look very pink. Specially for the pale girls as well. I’m finding it hard figuring out the perfect nude lip – not too pink, not too dark brown, not too skin toned so it ends up looking like foundation lips…

    1. Yes, extremely pink! I know the struggle, I’ve been trying for ages. I got color matched to my perfect nude at MAC last year (Hug Me) and I’m really happy with that so far.

  7. I really want to add this lipstick to my collection! It looks like such a beautiful colour.
    J
    lipglosslibrary.blogspot.ca

  8. I remember when I had a MAC lipstick obsession! This lipstick definitely looks darker in the tube than in the swatch. Too bad it wasn’t your MLBB! I just watched shadesofkassie on youtube for her MAC lipstick declutter, so now I have a lot on my wishlist.

    Would love if you check out my blog!
    Raincouver Beauty

Leave a Reply

