[Review] Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in #225 Sultry

The Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms hit Australia recently. Priceline have been advertising it extensively and I wasn’t too fazed until I actually went in store and did some swatching. I expected them to be less color and more of a lip balm, but was wrong and was pleasantly surprised ♥

The Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms come in a lip crayon form, with a swivel bottom. I love how even the packaging of this product is matte; it makes it easy to differentiate with the other Revlon Lacquer Balms.

20140329_090603

20140329_085931

The Matte Balms are available in 10 shades. I found that the colors available are not really suited to every skin tone. Priceline had a buy one/ get one free offer on Revlon lip products so even though I fell in love with #225 Sultry, I struggled to find a second matte balm that I liked. Which is okay, I ended up taking a Lacquer Balm as my second product.

Sultry is a rosy brown/pink shade which is a lot brighter on the lips than it appears in the tube. The texture of the balm is creamy and it applies on smoothly. The balm has a minty scent when applied, I’m not too keen on it but it’s not a deal breaker as it fades after a minute or two. When applied, the balm looks quite satiny but ends up settling into a more matte look. While this product is not drying on the lips, it’s still a matte finish so I suggest exfoliating dry lips first as this balm WILL accentuate any flakes or dry patches that you have.

The formula of Sultry is quite pigmented, one swipe gives sufficient coverage. I’m able to get around 3-4 hours of wear from this balm.

20140329_090338

Overall, the Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Sultry is pigmented and comfortable to wear. It will highlight any dryness so make sure that you exfoliate first (: This was my first matte lip product purchased and I’m pretty happy with the results.

Have you tried the Revlon Matte Balms yet? xx

4 comments

Leave a Reply

